View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

The City Council of the City of Taylor met on May 2, 2006, at City Hall, 400 Porter St., Taylor, Texas.  Mayor Donald Hill declared a quorum and called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with the following present:


Mayor Pro Tem John McDonald                         City Manager, Frank Salvato

Council Member Benito Gonzales                      Assistant City Manager, Jim Dunaway

Council Member Rod Hortenstine                      Susan Brock, City Clerk

Council Member Ella Jez                                    



Pastor Jim Newman came forward representing the Ministerial Alliance to inform the Council of a new teen program for the summer.  In cooperation with the Taylor Police Department, the Taylor Independent School District, Life Steps and the YMCA, a “Midnight Basketball” program is being developed to provide teens an alternative summer evening activity.  Pastor Newman’s plans include the use of the basketball courts on Threadgill Street adjacent to Robinson Park three nights a week from 7:00 to 10:00 pm.  In addition to the games, an educational component on substance abuse and other relevant topics will be provided to encourage a positive lifestyle. 


Frank Salvato, City Manager, provided an overview of the process undertaken so far in establishing park priorities and presented a request for Council to consider recommendations by the Parks and Recreation Board in establishing specific dollar amounts and improvements within each park.  Mr. Philip Wanke with BWM, Inc. provided Council with an updated chart of priorities and funding options for each park to assist Council in making a decision regarding the distribution of funds.  The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) policy restricts the $500,000 grant funds to actual park enhancements and the funds may not be applied to infrastructure costs.   Council was informed that with over $600,000 of infrastructure costs added to the $500,000 grant money the total for the East Williamson County Park quickly exceeded the $1 million mark.       

Improvements included in the TPWD grant for the East Williamson County Park include playground with playscape, hike and bike trails, softball and baseball fields, soccer and football fields, basketball court, picnic pavilion, park benches, a wetland enhancement area, xeriscape garden and signage.  Additional city funds would have to be used for lights, parking, restrooms, and utility lines.

Of the remaining funds, Council agreed to set aside $200,000 for improvements to Robinson Park which would include a new parking lot, playground with playscape, pedestrian bridge over the creek, safety lighting, resurfaced basketball courts, and new horseshoe and washer pits.  Another $250,000 was earmarked for improvements to Murphy Park which would include covered picnic tables, park benches, playgrounds and playscapes, an observation deck near the lake, sand volleyball courts, a xeriscape garden, safety lighting, and new parking areas and trails. 

Citing a recommendation from the Angelou study and Comprehensive Plan for the City, Mayor Pro Tem McDonald encouraged Council to look for alternative funding sources and to consider building out the County Park as much as possible.  In an effort to generate potential revenue to offset the costs of the county park Mayor Pro Tem McDonald suggested redesigning the layout to accommodate baseball and softball tournaments.  Council Member Jez moved to authorize Mr. Wanke of BWM to rework the proposal with a design to include a quad or quint design with eight to ten ball fields for tournament play, phased in construction for parking and lights and a lower contingency percentage on projected infrastructure costs.  Council Member Hortenstine seconded the motion.  VOTE:  Five voted AYE.  Motion passed.

With no further business, Council Member Jez moved to adjourn and Council Member Gonzales seconded the motion.  Mayor Hill adjourned the meeting at 8:22 p.m.





                                                                                                      Donald R. Hill, Mayor




Susan Brock, City Clerk