News Flash


Posted on: January 13, 2022


B Rydell

Taylor Mayor Brandt Rydell is the new Chair of the Executive Committee for the Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG).  

“It is an honor to have been elected by my fellow city and county leaders across the Austin metropolitan area to serve in this role.  CAPCOG is committed to encouraging and facilitating cooperation among local governments in conjunction with other levels of government and the private sector for the future development of our region and for the improvement of the health, safety, and welfare of our citizens.   I look forward to working with the rest of the Executive Committee and CAPCOG staff as we continue to pursue those goals,” said Mayor Rydell.

CAPCOG operates in the ten-county Capital area with more than 90 member governments and organizations, including cities, counties, school and appraisal districts, utilities, chambers of commerce and more. 

The 29-member Executive Committee, CAPCOG’s governing body, is comprised of city and county elected officials and four nonvoting state legislator seats nominated and selected annually to serve from January through December.  It provides direction to CAPCOG staff on program implementation, budgets, contracts and general policies and procedures for managing the agency.  The Executive Committee also serves as the board of managers for the Capital Area Emergency Communications District.

Mayor Rydell has served on the CAPCOG General Assembly for seven years and the Executive Committee for five.   Taylor City Council member Robert Garcia serves as a member of the CAPCOG General Assembly.

Learn more about CAPCOG and what it does at

Facebook Twitter Email