Planning and Development

Bob van Til
AICP, CEcD Planning / Devel. Director
Ph: 512-352-5990
Dept. Fax: 512-352-8483
Carrie Orts
Administrative Assistant
Ph: 512-365-3863
Rocio Lopez
Receptionist/Admin Clerk
Ph: 512-352-3675

Laura Rouse-DeVore        City Building Official
Ph: 512-365-3863 ext:24
Justin Haag
Code Enforcement Officer 
Ph: 512-352-6891

 David Weber
Associate Planner
Phone: 512-352-3675 ext:23

400 Porter St.
Taylor, TX  76574
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
The Planning and Development Department serves the citizens of Taylor through consistent, courteous and professional enforcement of adopted community codes and standards.

The following divisions prepare for the future of Taylor and the surrounding region by encouraging quality growth, while striving to protect the unique features of our community that make it an outstanding place to live, work, shop and play.

Planning and Development Coordination
The Planning division concentrates on determining Future Land Use, zoning, platting, site plan review, annexation, development, and all other issues related to comprehensive planning for the city.  You may review our Development Process here or contact Laura Rouse-DeVore  at 512-365-3863 ext. 24.

Building Inspections
Provides professional inspections of new building construction and remodeling to assure adherence to the City's adopted Building Codes.

Permit Applications
The Permit Office is located in City Hall at 400 Porter Street and permits are available Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.  Applications are available online.  Contact Rocio Lopez at 512-352-3675 or Carrie Orts at 512-365-3863 ext. 12 for more information.

Code Enforcement
Provides for the safety, health and quality of life for citizens and property through proper enforcement of City-adopted ordinances and codes. For more information contact  Justin Haag at 512-352-6891.

GIS Mapping/Addressing
Maintains current maps and any changes to the city footprint including zoning, annexation, city limits, and extraterritorial jurisdiction boundaries.  Contact David Weber for more information at 512-352-3675 ext. 23.

Current Project Status
The City of Taylor is experiencing a period of growth and reinvestment in the community.  A number of projects are currently under review, approved or under construction.

  • During the past year, 71% of commercial projects have been reviewed within 10 days or less. Average review time is 9.8 days from the time all plans and necessary documentation is received.
  • Residential projects review averages 4 days and 100% reviewed within five working days from the time all plans and necessary documentation is received.

List of Current Projects

Boards and Commissions
The Planning and Development Department provides staff support to the following city boards and commissions:
  • Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Impact Fee Advisory Board
  • Zoning Board of Adjustments
  • Building Standards Commission
  • Comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee
  • Moody Museum Advisory Board
  • Tax Increment Financing Board